My nighttime beauty ritual ๐Ÿฆ„

Hello my lovely readers,

It’s been a while since I last posted on my blog and I thought the best way to make a comeback would be to share my skin care routine with you guys. I’m flattered to get so many requests about this topic and I’m happy to share with you today some of the products that have been helping my skin to get clearer.

At night, your skin is in repair mode and recovering from the day. Also, your skin temperature is naturally higher at night, which means that your skin is more receptive to active ingredients. With that said, itโ€™s incredibly important to have a diligent nighttime routine to maximize your products and reap the benefits during your sleep!

Throughout the past year, I have developed a specific routine when it comes to skin care. A routine that I make sure to follow every night and which feels like a mini pampering session. The products change once in a while but for time being, I’ve been loving each and every product in my current skin care basket. I think I will stick around for a while before using anything new.

I had some really bad acnes last year which left many scars on my face. At some point, I tried to cover it every single day with loads of makeup but this only worsened the condition. It took me some time to realize how important skin care is and now I’m obsessed with taking care of my skin. You won’t see any major changes at first but I promise, it’s worth investing in skin care than covering the problem areas with makeup.

Enough blabbering, let’s get straight into the steps!ย ๐Ÿ’–ย ๐Ÿ’–ย ๐Ÿ’–

Step 1: Remove any makeup & wash the face

I don’t know if anyone else is just like me but removing your makeup at the end of the day is SUCH a satisfying feeling. It’s also very very very important to remove it off, let your skin breathe and prep it for the skin care.

Facewash
Depending on how much makeup I am wearing, I use different methods to remove it. Sometimes I go for an oil base remover as products like waterproof mascara and skin tints with SPF are harder to rinse off with a gentle cleanser. Also, oils are a great way to massage your face. Other times, I go for a gel cleanser when I’m wearing minimal makeup because it just glides off my face in a sec.

Next, I gently rub my cleanser in a circular motion on top of my skin. Washing your face with a cleanser after using an oil will ensure youโ€™ve gotten rid of all the buildup from your day. I’ve been loving my soap-free cleanser from Avene. No breakout, it’s not harsh on the skin and helps with my oily mess of a face.

Step 2: Toner

Your next step should be a toner, especially if you have oily skin. toner is necessary because it takes the pH of the skin back to normal.ย Most toners are composed ofย active ingredients that are great for the skin to absorb in the evening. Toners add an extra barrier of moisture to your skinโ€”theyโ€™re incredibly hydrating and calming.

recipe

I love using Rose Water ๐ŸŒนas a toner but lately, I have been using Apple Cider Vinegar mixed with water as a toner. It smells horrible but does wonders for the skin.

Step 3: Serum

Serum is one of my favorite steps. As with toner, there are many active ingredients in them and so many kinds on the market; you just have to find one that fits your skin type. I’ve been using this Pre-Serumย Tea Tree Anti-Imperfection solution from The Body Shop for the past 2 months now and I LOVE IT!ย โœจโœจโœจ

Tea Tree Serum

The solution has been helping my skin to combat the acne scars and blemishes on my face. My skin looks and is now clearer, smoother and it helped with reducing redness. My favorite part? The cold tingling sensation you immediately feel after applying it. I’m definitely going to get it again and again!ย ๐Ÿ’–

tree serum

Step 4:ย Moisturizer

cream

Do I need to go into the importance of moisturizing? Finding a moisturizer that will really penetrate and add moisture to the skin is crucial. I found my miracle moisturizerย last year and since then, I got two more of these babies. I’m not ready to try anything new for the time being because this one from Nanowhite (I get it from Intermart) which has been doing so good on my skin. With this product, Iย alwaysย wake up to the plumpest and glowing skin. The more you keep your skin hydrated and moisturized, the younger and more vibrant you look.

night cream

Step 5: Lip care

I apply Macademia lip balm from Yves Rocher . It has a creamy, balm-like texture and matte finish, and seems to moisturize throughout the night better than other lip balms Iโ€™ve tried.

Optional Add-Ons for Your Nighttime Skincare Routine

  1. Spot Treatย โ€“ If one of your concerns isย acne and breakouts, a step to be added into your nighttime routine may be to spot treat. I would recommend applying your acne spot treatment following Step 4 (Moisturize). From time to time I do break out (time of the month, dirty makeup brushes, too many cheat meals) and when this happens, I run to get my Sudocrem. I apply it on the pimple for two days and poof, it’s gone.
  2. Maskย โ€“ Adding a mask to your weekly skin care regimen can be extremely beneficial because they deliver ingredients beyond the superficial layers of the epidermis. I recommend adding a mask to your routine 1 to 3 times per week following Step 3 (Tone). If you use sheet masks (which I do once in a while), you can also replace Step 4 (Moisturize) with your mask and sleep with it on.
  3. Exfoliateย โ€“ To remove dead skin cell build-up and stimulate cell renewal, and an exfoliant into your skincare regimen 1 to 2 times per week. You can exfoliate in the evening after Step 2 (Cleanse).And thatโ€™s it for my daily bedtime beauty routine. Although these steps may seem excessive, after repeating it for a few weeks, youโ€™ll see a major difference in your skinโ€™s texture and overall look.ย Once you consistently perform your nightly skin care routine, youโ€™ll find it difficult to go to sleep without doing it.Want to see me demonstrate all these steps live? Hit me up on Instagram, DM me and we could chit chat while getting the skin ready for the night.Endslate.png

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “My nighttime beauty ritual ๐Ÿฆ„

Leave a Reply

