COLOURPOP Lipstick\\ Swatches & Review ❤

Liquid lipsticks have been IN for quite some time now. While they look amazing, those matte liquid lipsticks can be so drying on your lips and you girls know that the struggle is real when it comes to that time of the day to take it off. Or, during lunch or dinner time when the middle part is wiped away because of the oily food that we all love. To re-apply is just another issue because it will end up looking like you have 10 layers of lips.

Enough complaining because I do love liquid lipsticks and it’s been a while since I’ve wanted to try the ColourPop ones but due to my laziness to go to the bank (which is like 2 mins away from my house) to deposit some money on my shopping card *priorities first*, I never had a chance to get me some. Finally, two weeks ago I managed to order the lot of 3 for $12 (excluding shipping) and to my great surprise, it came to me faster than expected.

DSC_0002.JPG

Colourpop is a huge bang on social media with all their gorgeous products, their liquid lipstick line is one of the most popular. Lately, it seems that every brand is coming up with their own version of liquid lipsticks and I am a fan of them because it’s long wearing and it’s matte (discarding the cons I talked about above)  Everyone loves matte, right? Who doesn’t?

DSC_0013.JPG

The box, the colors make you feel so happy. Packaging is pretty much simple and very straight forward to use; it came in a plastic tube with a silver cap and a doe foot applicator.

DSC_0019.JPG

I got three shades and I’m pretty sure that I will be getting more soon. They are really pigmented. Unfortunately, I haven’t got the chance to test if it stays on when you eat and drink because I am currently fasting. Unless I wear it at 4 30 AM when I eat or at 5 45 PM when I break my fast (my family will think I’m crazy), I won’t be able to tell you how long it last. If you would like an update in the future, let me know 😉

DSC_0041-editedDSC_0044-edited

The formula is thin that makes it lightweight on the lips, but don’t be fooled — this product has an intense pigmentation like I said before. At first swipe, it has a watery consistency that glides on smoothly and after a couple of seconds it dries down into an ultra-matte finish. Ultra matte in the sense that there is no moisture in this product, it feels powdery when it dries but it is weightless on the lips. It doesn’t feel sticky at all which is a plus point. It has a weird feeling at first but you’ll get used to it.

The mini prim one is from there Ultra Satin collection. It transfers very quickly and got on my teeth within a few minutes. I wouldn’t recommend you to wear it when you are going for an interview or a wedding ( You don’t want to have colored teeth in front of so many people) but it still looks really nice. As the name suggests, it has a satin finish which I thought I wouldn’t like because I wear only matte lipstick but it was a good surprise. I love wearing dark lipstick so I’ll definitely use this mini gift.

Thanks, ColourPop!

DSC_0056-edited.jpg

However, I don’t recommend you guys to buy their mini collection. It contains only 0.02 oz compared to the regular lipstick which contains 0.11 oz of product which is a decent amount in my opinion. You might be disappointed if you are going to spend $$ on shipping and wait for weeks to get your order as the mini ones are of a sample size.

DSC_0048.JPG
Mini Prim

I did a swatch video on my Youtube channel and Gurl, it stained my lips especially if you’re using the dark deep or bright shades from the range. It’s pretty hard to remove – I used waterproof makeup remover and olive oil to remove it. Still, my lips were left with a light stain and I had to load up some pretty good amount of vaseline on my lips afterward to get back the moisture.

Lil tip: You need to prep your lips before using it. Run your toothbrush on your lips as a scrub, apply some moisturizer and let it soak into your lips because once you apply this lipstick it will not hydrate your lips at all.

Here are a few pictures of how they look on me –

BeautyPlus_20170603195237_saveBeautyPlus_20170603195326_saveBeautyPlus_20170603195424_saveBeautyPlus_20170603195531_save

Are they worth it?

In general, I like them a lot and I do think they are worth it. Shipping can be quite expensive for us Mauritians but very often ColourPop offers Worldwide Free Shipping and that’s when you should take advantage to get yours. This is the first time I bought lipstick online and I love all the shades. I went through some sad encounters in the past and I thought I would never buy lipstick without a swatch on my hands but the ColourPop lipstick made me change my mind. 

Have you tried ColourPop lipstick? Which one is your favourite?

Zainah

xoxo

10 thoughts on “COLOURPOP Lipstick\\ Swatches & Review ❤

  1. I’m usually afraid of liquid lipsticks because of the consistencies and the awkward drying but I may try these ones out! Great entry! I love your posts, and I’m looking forward to reading your future content!

    Stop by if you get a chance,

    Mena from noirerewritten.com ✨

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I never wear them when I know I will be eating oily food during the day. Once it is wipped off, it’s so difficult to apply on it again without making the lips looking flakey. You should definitely try these ones 😊❤

      Like

    1. Aww, thank you ❤. You should give it a go, you’ll love them, I’m sure!

      That’s awesome, I’m looking forward to check your blog ASAP. Love the group as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

