Uncategorized

My Winter Skin Essentials ♥

As winter months have crept on us, it’s time to crack out the products that will save our skin (well, mine anyway). Some will say that there’s no winter in Mauritius but when the temperature goes from 30°C to 21°C, it surely makes a difference on your skin.

This year, I don’t know why but my skin went into shock. It became so bitterly dry and this scaly crocodile dry skin cannot only be bothersome but itchy and painful as well. Not to mention how it ages you! 👎

Hands

One of the first & most vital is a good hand cream. My hands tend to get extremely dry and flaky,mainly in the palm and my forefinger ( I inherit it from my mom and her mom and so on, who’s hands actually split… ouch, luckily mine are not that bad, I take care of them.)

Lately I have been using Beaute Des Mains from Yves Rocher and have been loving it. I have tried quite a few hand creams from Nivea, Farmasi brand… I gave up on them as they always had something that I didn’t like, but this one is by far my favourite.

It got a very light creamy texture and soaks into the skin very quickly. The floral smell stays and the price is not that bad at all. ( I think it retails for Rs 99 sometimes when on promo).
20160613_133908

Body

If there is someone that owns like 10 body moisturisers/lotions and doesn’t use them at all
but will still buy more just because, then it’s me ( C’mon, i’m sure I’m not the only one who does this).
So among the many moisturisers that I own, my favourite this past few weeks has been the Baby Lotion from Lander.
20160613_134102

Simple reason, it smells just like baby and let’s be honest here who doesn’t love the smell of a baby? (I’m sure you sniff and want to eat them when you hold one).
Plus it does a fab job of moisturising the skin.

Lips

My lips have been really bad recently, and so I’ve been applying lip balm religiously. Actually my lips are always dry because of a bad reaction to a lipstick ( I prefer not to talk about it,it brings so many bad memories, just for you to know, I had dark lips)

20160613_134038

My favourites are Baby lips by Maybelline and Karite lip balm from Yves Rocher. I am never anywhere without either of these with me.

Face

Where do I even begin with this product? I’m sure some of you must have heard of Bio-Oil. I’ve heard a lot about it and seen so many reviews on YouTube and on Facebook. This oil is mainly said to be used on stretch marks during pregnancy but there are also a few more ways in which you can use this Holy Grail Oil.

I use it as a Serum (Day & Night). Using this as the night oil substitutes for an expensive serum as it has properties to help smooth and tone ageing skin. Instead of using a night cream, I used Bio-Oil and I found that not only do you wake up every morning with amazing feeling skin but your skin feels soft and it looks more radiant. Plus,it is also making my acne scars diminish. Yay!

20160613_133929
I recently introduced Bio Oil to my mom and she is loving it. She has a very dehydrated skin and she has been using it religiously everyday.
Using Bio-oil helps lock in the little moisture that it has and therefore
making her skin healthier and is helping her with the pigmentation that she has on her skin. You can find it at any drugstore and retails for Rs 190.

I hope you enjoyed a little insight into the things I’m currently using.

What are your winter essentials? Anything i’m missing out on? Leave a comment down below to let me know ♥

 

Leave a Reply

